Main menu


Do you need motorcycle insurance in florida

Do you need motorcycle insurance in florida

Is motorcycle insurance required in Florida?

Florida motorcycle laws are unique compared to most other states. In most states, motorcycle insurance laws are comparable to other auto laws, but they are not in Florida. Florida motor vehicle drivers, who have four or more wheels, must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as part of their general fault-free Florida insurance. This will guarantee medical bills of up to $ 2,500 as long as the claim is filed within 14 days. If medical bills result from an emergency, as approved by a medical professional, the PIP will pay the maximum of $ 10,000. This PIP is not available to the motorcycle owner, even if the owner already has the PIP of another vehicle. Due to the fact that injuries in a motorcycle accident are likely to be more serious, a motorcyclist is at higher risk of financial disaster after a serious accident.

Florida Motorcycle Registration

Florida motorcycle insurance requirements are based on the owner's financial responsibility versus liability. The owner of the motorcycle is not required to have motorcycle registration insurance. However, the driver is financially responsible if he is charged in a motorcycle accident. The motorcycle owner has three financial responsibility options to choose from.

  1. Purchase liability insurance from a licensed Florida insurance company. This will be the most common way to get coverage.
  2. Certified financial responsibility insurance. This requires posting a bond with a state-licensed business and depositing cash or securities with the Department of Highway and Vehicle Safety (DHSMV).
  3. Obtain a certificate of self-insurance from the Office of Financial Responsibility after providing evidence of pledged equity.

In Florida, when will you be required to carry bodily injury liability insurance?

The state's minimum liability coverage requirements for other passenger vehicles are guidelines that can be used to determine how much coverage is required.

  • $ 10,000 for an injured person
  • $ 20,000 for two or more injured people
  • $ 10,000 per accident in property damage liability.

Does Florida's fault-free coverage apply to motorcycles?

Florida is a "bug-free" state that requires personal injury protection coverage for your personal four-wheeler or more. Error-free coverage ensures that all medical bills are paid regardless of who was at fault for the accident. The no-fault laws do not apply to motorcycles.

This means that any motorcycle rider must claim compensation from the other rider's insurance for medical bills, loss of income, pain, suffering, and damage to the motorcycle. They are not required to meet any thresholds or test the severity of injuries like drivers of other personal vehicles. It can potentially be beneficial to the motorcycle owner to obtain uninsured motorist coverage (UMC) in the event of a collision with a driver who does not have liability insurance.

About 13% of drivers nationwide drive on highways without insurance. Based on recent data such as 2019, the number of uninsured motorists in Florida often ranks first in the uninsured state, with 26.7% of drivers on the road. This means that 1 in 4 drivers on Florida roads does not have any type of liability insurance. This is scary if one of these drivers seriously injures you and you are unable to go after your insurance company for compensation. 

What are the penalties for not having motorcycle insurance in Florida?

Although motorcycle insurance is not required to register a bicycle in Florida, there are penalties if you are in an accident and do not have insurance. If you are accused of an accident, you are financially responsible for bodily injury and property damage. If liability coverage was not in effect at the time of the accident, you could face serious consequences, including:

  • Suspend your driving privileges
  • After your registration, your trademark is pending
  • Be required to purchase bodily injury / property damage liability coverage for a period of three years
  • Have civil provisions against you

In other words, motorcycle coverage is not mandatory until after it has caused an accident.